2015 Award Winners

College Athlete of the Year

Sydney Moss
Sydney Moss, a junior, led her Thomas More Saints to a perfect 33-0 season and the NCAA Division III National Championship defeating George Fox University in the final game 83-63. Moss had a triple double in that final game.  Just recently at the Division I Final Four in Tampa, Moss was honored as the NCAA Division III Player of the Year. D3hoops and Women’s DIII News also selected Moss as the National Player of the Year.  She led the nation in scoring at 24.2 points per game.  In addition to Moss’s national honors she is the Presidents Athletic Conference and Great Lakes Region Player of the Year.  For the 2nd year she is a First Team All-American.

High School Athlete of the Year

Malia Berkely
Malia Berkely is a senior at Badin HS where she has amassed an impressive array of awards in soccer.  She led her Badin team to this year’s Division III state championship and was named the Division III Player of the Year.  She is Ms. Soccer Ohio, a NSCAA All American and Gatorade’s Ohio Player of the Year.  Berkely is first team All State, All District and All GGCL, honors she also earned as a sophomore and as a junior.  A standout in the league, Berkely was GGCL Athlete of the Year as a sophomore and as a junior. She traveled with the 2013 Olympic development team in Costa Rica and played on the US Soccer team for the past 4 years. She will attend Florida State University in the Fall.

2015 GCNKWSA Award Recipients

Wilma Rudolf Courage Award
Lauren Hill, Mt. St. Joseph University

Special Recognition Award
Brad Johansen Xavier, Mt. St. Joseph 

Donna de Varona Spirit of Sport
Christina Switzer Lakota West High School

Donna de Varona Spirit of Sport
Victoria Stoltz Lakota West High School

Lifetime Service Award
Kim Gunning Notre Dame Academy

Master Sportswoman
Olivia (Liv) Birkenhauer 

Mary Jo Huismann Administrator of the Year
Jan Wilking

Media Award
Betsy Ross

High School Coach of the Year
Emily Knoll Swimming Notre Dame Academy 

College Coach of the Year
Jeff Cummings Soccer Thomas More College


College Sportswomen - 9 - one per sport and Sportswoman of the Year

Sydney Moss Basketball Thomas More College

Jessica Hoover Cross-Country Miami University

Olivia Huber Soccer/Basketball Thomas More college

Kelsey L. Dinges Soccer Miami University

Danielle Monnier Softball Wilmington College

Jacqueline Keire Swimming University of Cincinnati

Nimisha Mohan Tennis Miami University

Victoria Melane Paterra Track & Field Miami University

Kelsey Castiglioni Volleyball Thomas More College

High School Sportswomen - 10 - one per sport and Sportswoman of the Year

Naomi Davenport Basketball Mount Notre Dame High School

Annie Heffernan Cross-Country St. Ursula Academy

Carly C. Hill Diving Highland High School

Carolyn Markley Golf St. Ursula Academy

Malia Berkely Soccer Stephen T. Badin High School

Hayley Sophia Curtis Softball Colerain High School

Sydney Lofquist Swimming Ursuline Academy

Cassidy Hicks Tennis Hamilton High School

Autumn Heath Track & Field Lakota East High School

Margo Wolf Volleyball Mount Notre Dame High School